<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<rss version="2.0"
	xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/"
	xmlns:wfw="http://wellformedweb.org/CommentAPI/"
	xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/"
	xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom"
	xmlns:sy="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/syndication/"
	xmlns:slash="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/slash/"
	>

<channel>
	<title> &#187; Melanie Ross</title>
	<atom:link href="http://www.lanzarotewebdesign.com/tag/melanie-ross/feed/" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml" />
	<link>http://www.lanzarotewebdesign.com</link>
	<description></description>
	<lastBuildDate>Sun, 30 Oct 2011 13:31:12 +0000</lastBuildDate>
	<language>en</language>
	<sy:updatePeriod>hourly</sy:updatePeriod>
	<sy:updateFrequency>1</sy:updateFrequency>
	<generator>http://wordpress.org/?v=3.2.1</generator>
		<item>
		<title>The Lanzarote Society</title>
		<link>http://www.lanzarotewebdesign.com/the-lanzarote-society/</link>
		<comments>http://www.lanzarotewebdesign.com/the-lanzarote-society/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Tue, 26 May 2009 13:48:55 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Alan</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Advice]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[General]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Glossary]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Opinion]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Jenny Harris]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Lanzarote]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Lanzarote Society]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Melanie Ross]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Quill Group]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Quills Wills]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Simon Harris]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.lanzarotewebdesign.com/?p=236</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[Today we got spammed &#8211; nothing new about that in Lanzarote, or anywhere else with the address lanzarotesociety-dot-com&#8230; We also had some complaints, and questions from clients &#8211; relating mostly to the fact that they had used the address elle@ as their Playa Blanca contact. Our clients were questioning whether we were involved in any [...]


Related posts:<ol><li><a href='http://www.lanzarotewebdesign.com/plagiarism-in-lanzarote/' rel='bookmark' title='Plagiarism in Lanzarote'>Plagiarism in Lanzarote</a></li>
<li><a href='http://www.lanzarotewebdesign.com/cheap-calls-to-lanzarote/' rel='bookmark' title='Cheap calls to Lanzarote'>Cheap calls to Lanzarote</a></li>
<li><a href='http://www.lanzarotewebdesign.com/lanzarote-virtual-tour/' rel='bookmark' title='Lanzarote Virtual Tour'>Lanzarote Virtual Tour</a></li>
</ol>]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Today we got spammed &#8211; nothing new about that in Lanzarote, or anywhere else with the address lanzarotesociety-dot-com&#8230; We also had some complaints, and questions from clients &#8211; relating mostly to the fact that they had used the address elle@ as their Playa Blanca contact. Our clients were questioning whether we were involved in any way. We decided to do some digging.</p>
<p><strong>Before I go any further with the results of that digging, let me state categorically we have not, will not, and will not ever have any dealings with the site or those behind it.</strong></p>
<p>Apart from being a really shabbily designed website, it;</p>
<ul>
<li>gives no indication of its owners</li>
<li>is selling membership to unwitting tourists who might want to &#8216;feel part of the island&#8217;</li>
<li>it claims to be non-profit making (sic!)</li>
<li>offers people the opportunity to work for them for the investment of £2000</li>
<li>the whole thing stinks&#8230;</li>
</ul>
<p>The whole site and its related domains are written in a style of language many reading this will be familiar with&#8230; It includes the phrase &#8220;Simon says&#8221; throughout&#8230;</p>
<p>Yes, you guessed it. It&#8217;s an old favourite &#8211; it&#8217;s the inimitable Simon Harris again. Simon and Jenny Harris and Quills Wills may be down and unable to trade here (his words on the <a title="Quills Wills" href="http://www.gazettelive.com/forum/index.php?topic=833.225" target="_blank">Gazette forum</a> as I recall), but it seems they are not out.</p>
<p>The evidence?</p>
<p>The name of the domain owner &#8211; <a title="Melanie Ross" href="http://www.google.co.uk/search?hl=en&amp;rlz=1B3GGGL_enES275ES277&amp;q=%22melanie+ross%22+lanzarote&amp;btnG=Search&amp;meta" target="_blank">Melanie Ross</a> (click on her name for the Google search which demonstrates clear link)</p>
<p>Companies House information&#8230; <strong></strong></p>
<p><a title="Lanzarote Society" href="http://wck2.companieshouse.gov.uk/83ae952b7a04ae4953e693d101c4a91d/compdetails" target="_blank"><strong>LANZAROTE SOCIETY MANAGEMENT LIMITED</strong></a><br />
HARBRO HOUSE<br />
CROWN LANE<br />
DENBIGH<br />
LL16 3SY <strong><br />
Company No. 06661107</strong></p>
<p>and&#8230;..</p>
<p><a title="The Quill Group" href="http://wck2.companieshouse.gov.uk/83ae952b7a04ae4953e693d101c4a91d/compdetails" target="_blank"><strong>THE QUILL GROUP (1986) LLP</strong></a><br />
HARBRO HOUSE<br />
CROWN LANE<br />
DENBIGH<br />
DENBIGHSHIRE<br />
LL16 3SY <strong><br />
Company No. OC328567</strong></p>
<p>The same address is also the Registered Office of&#8230; <a title="The Quill Group" href="http://wck2.companieshouse.gov.uk/83ae952b7a04ae4953e693d101c4a91d/compdetails" target="_blank">THE QUILL GROUP COMPANY SECRETARY LLP<br />
</a> and <a title="The Quill Group" href="http://wck2.companieshouse.gov.uk/83ae952b7a04ae4953e693d101c4a91d/compdetails" target="_blank">THE QUILL GROUP TREASURER LLP</a></p>
<p>There&#8217;s plenty more where that came from &#8211; but I think you&#8217;ll agree it&#8217;s pretty clear as to who is pulling the strings on this baby! Of course, I have emailed and asked that any links they have included on there to our sites be removed &#8211; we have absolutely NO association with this venture.</p>
<p><strong><em>The really worrying thing is that on the site it says that one of their aims is to represent the island and it businesses&#8230; Think about that one!</em></strong></p>
<p>A note to tourists who may be reading this at this point &#8211; there are many good sites in addition to our own <a title="Lanzarote Nightlife - bar and restaurant guide" href="http://www.canarynightlife.net/lanzarote/lanzarote.htm" target="_blank">Lanzarote Nightlife</a> if you are looking for information on the island &#8211; just Google, you&#8217;ll find plenty. And you certainly don&#8217;t have to pay to feel a part of the community &#8211; you are always welcome on sites like our own forum at <a title="Lanzarote forum" href="http://www.canarynightlife.net/forum/index.php" target="_blank">Canary Nightlife</a>, the forums on <a title="Discover Lanzarote" href="http://www.discoverlanzarote.com/forum/default.asp" target="_blank">Discover Lanzarote</a> and at the <a title="Gazette forum" href="http://www.gazettelive.com/forum/index.php" target="_blank">Gazette</a>.</p>
<p>Now, of course, I&#8217;m not saying Simon Harris is a conman &#8211; I do however have an opinion based on all I&#8217;ve seen and read about him. What I would strongly urge anyone who is reading this &#8211; if you are thinking about doing business with him, or any of his companies, make sure you do thorough research &#8211; hopefully there&#8217;s enough in this post to get you started. That research may end up saving you thousands&#8230;</p>
<p><strong>Caveat Emptor&#8230;.</strong></p>


<p>Related posts:<ol><li><a href='http://www.lanzarotewebdesign.com/plagiarism-in-lanzarote/' rel='bookmark' title='Plagiarism in Lanzarote'>Plagiarism in Lanzarote</a></li>
<li><a href='http://www.lanzarotewebdesign.com/cheap-calls-to-lanzarote/' rel='bookmark' title='Cheap calls to Lanzarote'>Cheap calls to Lanzarote</a></li>
<li><a href='http://www.lanzarotewebdesign.com/lanzarote-virtual-tour/' rel='bookmark' title='Lanzarote Virtual Tour'>Lanzarote Virtual Tour</a></li>
</ol></p>]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://www.lanzarotewebdesign.com/the-lanzarote-society/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>18</slash:comments>
		</item>
	</channel>
</rss>

